Logo der Universität Wien

Welcome to the information area for international exchange students in Scandinavian Studies at the University of Vienna

On this website you will find information about your ERASMUS stay in our field of study at the University of Vienna. Please read the information carefully. If you have further questions, please turn to your departmental coordinator who has been indicated in your Letter of Acceptance.

Please make sure you also read the International Office's checklists which are relevant for your period of stay carefully as they provide important general information. You can find these lists on the right ("checklists").

1. Contact persons

Departmental coordinator

The departmental coordinator is the person who helps you with questions concerning your studies at our department. She provides information regarding specific courses, course registration and exams, Learning Agreement, courses offered in English etc. 

Name: Mag. Jeannette Bergström
eMail-address: jeannette.bergstroem@univie.ac.at
Telephone: 0043-(0)1-4277-43052
Address: Universitätsring 1 / Stiege 3 / 2. Stock, 1010 Wien
Room No.: 02.145C
Office hours during the semester: by appointment
Office hours outside the semester dates: by appointment

2. Course offer and course choice

Course Catalogue

The courses offered by our department can be found in the course catalogueDetailed course information, such as the language of instruction, first course sessions, lessons per week and ECTS credits are stated in the respective course descriptions. Should you need even more detailed information about a certain course, please contact the departmental coordinator.

The course catalogue for the upcoming semester is published in August (for the winter semester) or January (for the summer semester). If you need an overview of the offered courses earlier, please refer to the course catalogue of the relevant preceding semester. Please note, however, that not all courses are held each semester and changes to the course offer are possible.

Our courses are usually held in the main building of the university, Universitätsring 1, 1010 Vienna or in UZA I Augasse 2-6, 1090 Vienna.

Language requirements and courses taught in English

In order to take up your studies in our field of study you are required to speak and write German at a level of B2/C1 with regard to the Common European Framework of References for Languages (CEFR). ERASMUS students do not need to complete any official language test; however, your home university must confirm the required level during your online nomination. If you are able to find a sufficient amount of courses taught in English in our field of study, you may also take up your studies without any knowledge of German. However, basic language skills in German are strongly recommended in order to be able to find your way around in Vienna.

In our field of study there usually are no courses offered in English

ECTS and course types

Please note that the number of courses and the amount of ECTS credits you need to obtain at the University of Vienna depends on your home university’s requirements.

There are different course types: Lecutres (Vorlesungen, VO) and lectures with discussion (Vorlesungen mit Konversatorium, VK) are courses where regular attendance is not mandatory. There usually is a written or an oral exam at the end of the semester in order to obtain a grade. Training courses (Übungen, UE), proseminars (Proseminare, PS) and seminars (SE) are courses with compulsory and regular attendance. Assessment criteria are active course participation, presentations, midterm-tests, papers and written and/or oral end-term tests.
Grades
are awarded within a five-digit grading system ranging from 1 (excellent) to 5 (unsatisfactory).

As an exchange student you do not have to take courses from the STEOP module (“Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase“ i.e. “Introduction and Orientation Phase”); you are even recommended to not taking any of these courses.

Advanced students who have been nominated for the Bachelor programme may also attend courses from the Master's programme if they have sufficient knowledge on the subject. However, this must be cleared up with the departmental coordinator first.

If you have been nominated for our field of study, you generally can follow all lectures (‘Vorlesung’, VO) conducted by our department. Because of the high number of students, places in courses with a limited number of participants such as training courses (‘Übung’, ‘UE’) or seminars (‘Seminar’, ‘SE’) cannot be guaranteed. We therefore recommend concentrating on lectures and only taking one seminar or training course per semester.

Courses for external students in our field of study

Exchange students who haven’t been nominated for our field of study but who would still like to follow courses at our department are asked to see the departmental coordinator during their office hours after their arrival in Vienna in order to discuss the possibility. However, permission to participate in our courses cannot be guaranteed beforehand.

3. Learning Agreement / Specific Confirmations

Learning Agreement

On our part it is sufficient if you provide your Learning Agreement after your arrival in Vienna at the beginning of your ERASMUS stay.
Please see the departmental coordinator during the office hours to discuss the details of your course choice in person. We would, however, recommend sending a list of the courses you wish to take up via email before your arrival in Vienna.

Confirmation of other courses

Please note that our departmental coordinators can only confirm courses from our field of study. If you wish to attend courses outside our field of study, you should use an extra Learning Agreement which lists these courses. Further information on this matter can be found here. The participation in language courses at the Language Center and in courses relating to Austria will not be confirmed by the departmental coordinator either. If you wish to have these courses confirmed as well, please contact the International Office.

Other study-related confirmations

In case you need particular documents signed for your home university that include course-specific information such as language of instruction etc, please see your departmental coordinator during the office hours. For any documents that should just indicate the dates of your registration or de-registration at the International Office, please contact the International Office. 

4. Course registration

Registration Deadlines

Course registration at our department usually starts at the beginning of September for the winter semester and at the beginning of February for the summer semester. During these registration periods the "first come, first served" principle does not apply.

Please note that it is mandatory to register for a course, even if you are just interested in taking it. It is not possible to attend any course without prior registration.

Link to the registration period (in German)

Course registration is done via U:SPACE. You do not have to be in Vienna in order to register for courses. The International Office will send you an email with your student ID number and the instructions on how to activate your u:account well before the start of the registration period.

Registration process

In order to register for a course, please follow the registration link in the course catalogue. It is provided in each course's detailed course description in the section "An/Abmeldung" (please note that this link is only active during the registration period!). Please choose [“Erasmus-Modul”] when asked for the module during registration. Further information can be found here.

The registration is completed once your status in U:SPACE has changed to “angemeldet” ("registered") after the end of the registration period. The registration via U:SPACE is sufficient as you are allowed to follow all our courses, if you have been nominated for our field of study. If your status is listed as “vorgemerkt” (pre-registered) during the registration period, you can ignore this; your status will automatically be changed to “angemeldet” ("registered") after the registration has been closed. If this is not the case within three days after the end of the registration period, please contact your departmental coordinator. Please note that attendance during the first course session is obligatory. If you don't show up in the first session without an excuse, you might lose your place in the course.

If your status is “Warteliste” (waiting list), you were put on the course's waiting list. In this case please do go to the first course session in order to see whether you can obtain a place.

General information on course registration at the University of Vienna can be found here.

Deregistration

Should you decide to not to take part in a course after all, please deregister from the course via U:SPACE as soon as possible so that we can offer the place to another student. Deregistration is possible until October 31st (winter semester) or April 30th (summer semester). Please also tell your course instructor about your deregistration. 

If you haven't deregistered by October 31st (winter semester) or April 30th (summer semester), you might get a negative grade for the course in your transcript of records.

5. Exams and Transcript of Records

In order to sit exams it is often necessary to register for exams via U:SPACE. Registration for exams usually starts 1-3 weeks before the day of the exam.

Exam dates

The exam dates are usually announced during the first course session at the beginning of the semester. Exams are usually held at the end of the semester or up to one week after that.

Transcript of Records / Confirmation of Attendance:

Grades and ECTS credits are usually registered in U:SPACE within one month after the exam. The system allows you to print your transcript of records with a digital signature at least until the end of April (stay in the preceding winter semester) or until the end of November (stay in the preceding summer semester).

In case you do not need a grade or ECTS credits but just a confirmation of attendance for a course, please mention this to the respective course instructor right at the beginning of the semester.

University of Vienna

Dr.-Karl-Lueger-Ring 1
1010 Vienna
T: +43-1-4277-43051
E-Mail
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0

Logo der Universität Wien

Willkommen im Informationsbereich für internationale Austauschstudierende der Skandinavistik der Universität Wien!

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie Informationen rund um Ihren ERASMUS-Aufenthalt an der Universität Wien in unserer Studienrichtung. Bitte lesen Sie diese Informationen aufmerksam durch. Für weitere Fragen bitten wir Sie, Ihre/n zuständige/n FachkoordinatorIn zu kontaktieren, der Ihnen mit Ihrem Letter of Acceptance mitgeteilt wurde. 

Bitte lesen Sie auch die für Ihren Aufenthalt relevante Checkliste des International Office, die Ihnen wichtige allgemeine (nicht studienrichtungspezifische) Informationen bereitstellt. Sie finden diese im rechten Randinhalt ("Checklisten").

1. Ansprechpersonen

FachkoordinatorIn

Für spezifische Fragen zu Ihrem Studium in unserer Studienrichtung kontaktieren Sie bitte Ihre Fachkoordinatorin. Sie beantwortet Fragen zum Learning Agreement, zur Lehrveranstaltungsanmeldung und Prüfungen, Lehrveranstaltungen auf Englisch sowie Fragen zu spezifischen Lehrveranstaltungen. 

Name: Univ.-Ass. MMag. Helene Peterbauer
E-Mail Adresse: helene.peterbauer@univie.ac.at
Telefonnummer: 0043-(0)1-4277-43057
Adresse: UZA Augasse 2-6 / Stiege D / 5. Stock, 1090 Wien
Zimmernummer: RaumNr.: D5.28.8
Sprechstunde innerhalb der Semesterdaten: Mittwoch, 15.00-16.00 Uhr
Sprechstunde außerhalb der Semesterdaten: nach Vereinbarung

Sollten Sie für Ihre Recherche zu z.B. Ihrer Masterarbeit nach Wien kommen und außerhalb der selbstständigen Recherche auch zusätzliche Betreuung benötigen, besprechen Sie dies bitte so bald wie möglich mit Ihrem/r FachkoordinatorIn der Universität Wien.

Falls Sie sich bereits in Wien befinden, bitten wir Sie, bei Fragen oder benötigten Unterschriften die angeführten Sprechstunden in Anspruch zu nehmen. Hierfür ist keine Terminvereinbarung notwendig.

International Office

Für alle allgemeinen Fragen zu Ihrem ERASMUS Aufenthalt besuchen Sie bitte die Homepage des International Office. Das International Office erhält Ihre Nominierung von Ihrer Heimatuniversität und sendet Ihnen Ihren "Letter of Acceptance" zu. Es ist verantwortlich für Fragen zu Ihrer Zulassung und Ihrem Studierendenausweis, zum Thema Unterkunft, Leben in Wien etc. 

2. Lehrangebot und Kurswahl

Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Das Lehrangebot unserer Studienrichtung finden Sie im Vorlesungsverzeichnis. Im Vorlesungsverzeichnis finden Sie alle Details wie Anzahl der Unterrichtseinheiten pro Woche, Beginnzeiten, Anzahl der ECTS, Unterrichtssprache etc. direkt bei der jeweiligen Lehrveranstaltung angeführt. Sollten Sie doch eine noch nähere Beschreibung eines Kurses benötigen, kontaktieren Sie bitte Ihre/n FachkoordinatorIn.

Das Vorlesungsverzeichnis für das kommende Semester ist ab etwa August bzw. Jänner verfügbar. Sollten Sie z.B. für das Learning Agreement bereits davor einen Überblick benötigen, ziehen Sie als Orientierung bitte das Vorlesungsverzeichnis des Winter- bzw. Sommersemesters des Vorjahres heran. Bitte beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Lehrveranstaltungen in jedem Semester angeboten werden.

Unsere Lehrveranstaltungen finden in der Regel im Hauptgebäude der Universität Wien, Universitätsring 1, 1010 Wien oder im UZA I Augasse 2-6, 1090 Wien statt.

Sprachliche Voraussetzungen und Lehrveranstaltungen auf Englisch

Für das Studium in unserer Studienrichtung sind Deutschkenntnisse auf dem Niveau B2/C1 nach dem Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmen notwendig. Es ist kein offizieller Sprachnachweis über dieses Niveau erforderlich, Ihre Heimuniversität muss in Ihrer Online-Nominierung jedoch bestätigen, dass Sie bei Studienbeginn über das in unserer Studienrichtung verlangte Sprachniveau verfügen. Austauschstudierende, die ausreichend englischsprachige Lehrveranstaltungen in unserer Studienrichtung finden, können prinzipiell auch ohne Deutschkenntnisse studieren. Bitte beachten Sie aber, dass für ein Leben in Wien zumindest grundlegende Deutschkenntnisse zu empfehlen sind.

In unserer Studienrichtung finden in der Regel keine Lehrveranstaltungen auf Englisch statt.

ECTS und Lehrveranstaltungen

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Ihre Heimatuniversität vorgibt, wieviele Lehrveranstaltungen und somit ECTS Sie an der Universität Wien absolvieren sollen.

An der Universität Wien wird zwischen verschiedenen Kurstypen unterschieden. Vorlesungen (VO) und Vorlesungen mit Konversatorium (VK) sind sogenannte nicht-prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltungen. Hier besteht keine Anwesenheitspflicht, der Leistungsnachweis wird am Ende des Semesters in der Regel durch eine schriftliche oder mündliche Prüfung erbracht.
Übungen
(UE), Proseminare (PS) und Seminare (SE) sind prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen Anwesenheitspflicht besteht. Der Leistungsnachweis erfolgt über regelmäßige Mitarbeit (zB Wortmeldungen und die Abgabe von schriftlichen Übungsarbeiten), Referate bzw Zwischentests, das Verfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit bzw schriftliche und/oder mündliche Schlusstests.
Die Leistungsbeurteilung erfolgt an Hand einer fünfstufigen Notenskala von 1 (sehr gut) bis 5 (nicht genügend).

Als Austauschstudierende müssen Sie keine Lehrveranstaltungen der Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase (STEOP) belegen.

Wenn Sie für unsere Studienrichtung von Ihrer Heimatuniversität nominiert wurden, haben Sie prinzipiell die Möglichkeit, jede Lehrveranstaltung aus unserer Studienrichtung zu absolvieren.
Wenn Sie für unsere Studienrichtung von Ihrer Heimatuniversität nominiert wurden, haben Sie prinzipiell die Möglichkeit, jede Vorlesung (VO) unserer Studienrichtung zu belegen. Auf Grund der hohen Studierendenzahlen in unserer Studienrichtung können jedoch vor Semesterbeginn keine Plätze in Übungen (UE) oder Seminaren (SE) garantiert werden. Daher empfehlen wir Ihnen, in erster Linie Vorlesungen zu belegen und nur eine Übung oder Seminar zu wählen, damit es nicht zu Problemen mit den von Ihrer Heimatuniversität vorgegebenen ECTS kommt.

Fachfremde Mitbelegung von LVs in unserer Studienrichtung

Für Austauschstudierende, die nicht für unsere Studienrichtung nominiert wurden und trotzdem gerne Lehrveranstaltungen bei uns belegen wollen, ist eine fachfremde Teilnahme an Vorlesungen möglich und muss weder mit dem/der LehrveranstaltungsleiterIn noch dem/der FachkoordinatorIn besprochen werden. Alle anderen Lehrveranstaltungen können eventuell mitbelegt werden. Dies muss jedoch zu Beginn des Semesters mit der/m Lehrveranstaltungsleiter/in direkt besprochen werden. Bei Akzeptanz kommen Sie als nächsten Schritt in die Sprechstunde von dem/der FachkoordinatorIn, der/die dann auch das Learning Agreement für diese Kurse unterzeichnet. Weitere Informationen zum Thema fachfremde Mitbelegung finden Sie hier.

3. Learning Agreement und Bestätigungen

Learning Agreement

Unsererseits ist es ausreichend, wenn Sie uns Ihr Learning Agreement nach Ankunft in Wien zu Beginn Ihres Aufenthaltes vorlegen. Hierfür bitten wir Sie, persönlich in die Sprechstunde Ihres Fachkoordinators zu kommen, um evtl. Details gleich direkt besprechen zu können.

Zur Orientierung bitten wir Sie allerdings, uns bereits vor Ihrer Ankunft in Wien per E-Mail eine Liste mit den Lehrveranstaltungen zu übermitteln, die Sie besuchen möchten.

Bestätigungen anderer Lehrveranstaltungen

Bitte beachten Sie, dass unsere FachkoordinatorInnen grundsätzlich nur Lehrveranstaltungen unserer Studienrichtung bestätigen können. Für fachfremde Lehrveranstaltungen sollte ein eigenes Learning Agreement vorgelegt werden. Weitere Details zu dieser Thematik finden Sie hier.
Die Teilnahme an Sprachkursen am Sprachenzentrum und an Lehrveranstaltungen mit Österreich-Bezug wird nicht von unseren FachkoordinatorInnen, sondern vom International Office bestätigt.

Fachspezifische Bestätigungen

Sollten Sie spezielle Formulare von Ihrer Heimatuniversität haben, in denen fachspezifische Informationen wie z.B. Unterrichtssprache zu bestätigen sind, kommen Sie auch hierfür in die Sprechstunden Ihres/er Fachkoordinators/in. Falls auf diesem Formular nur das Datum der An- und Abmeldung im International Office der Universität Wien zu bestätigen ist, wenden Sie sich direkt an das International Office.

4. Lehrveranstaltungsanmeldung

Anmeldefristen

Die Anmeldung zu Lehrveranstaltungen unserer Studienrichtung findet für das Wintersemester üblicherweise Anfang September, für das Sommersemester Anfang Februar statt. Während dieser Anmeldephasen besteht kein First-Come-First-Served-Prinzip.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Anmeldung in jedem Fall durchzuführen ist, auch wenn Sie nur Interesse an einem Kurs haben. Ohne Anmeldung ist eine Belegung nicht möglich.

Link zu den Anmeldefristen

Die Lehrveranstaltungsanmeldung erfolgt über U:SPACE. Für die Anmeldung müssen Sie noch nicht in Wien sein. Sie erhalten zeitgerecht per E-Mail Ihre Matrikelnummer und eine Erklärung, wie Sie Ihren u:account aktivieren können, um die Anmeldung vorzunehmen.

Anmeldeprozedere

Folgen Sie zur Kursanmeldung dem Anmeldelink im Vorlesungsverzeichnis. Sie finden diesen im Detailtext der jeweiligen Lehrveranstaltungen unter dem Punkt "An/Abmeldung (Achtung: Dieser Link ist nur während der Anmeldephase aktiviert!). Bitte wählen Sie während der Anmeldung unter dem sogenannten "Studienplanpunkt" die Option ["Erasmus-Modul"].Weitere Informationen hierzu finden hier.

Die erfolgreiche Anmeldung zu einer Lehrveranstaltung wird dadurch angezeigt, dass Sie kurz nach Ende der Anmeldephase in U:SPACE den Status "angemeldet" vorfinden. Da Sie als für unsere Studienrichtung nomininerte/r AustauschstudierendeR an allen unseren Lehrveranstaltungen teilnehmen können, reicht eine Anmeldung über U:SPACE aus. Falls Sie während der Anmeldephase z.B. den Status "vorgemerkt" vorfinden, kann dies ignoriert werden, Ihr Status wird nach Ende der Anmeldephase automatisch auf "angemeldet" umgestellt. Eine Kontaktaufnahme mit Ihrer/m FachkoordinatorIn ist daher nur dann notwendig, falls drei Tage nach Ende Anmeldephase der Status immer noch nicht auf "angemeldet" abgeändert wurde. Bei Lehrveranstaltungen mit Anwesenheitspflicht ist das Erscheinen in der ersten Kurseinheit zwingend erforderlich. Sollten Sie unentschuldigt fehlen, verlieren Sie unter Umständen Ihren Platz in der Lehrveranstaltung.

Sollten Sie auf die "Warteliste" gesetzt worden sein, gehen Sie unbedingt in die erste Kurseinheit, dort wird Ihnen mitgeteilt, ob Sie einen Platz in der Lehrveranstaltung bekommen.

Weitere allgemeine Informationen zum Thema Lehrveranstaltungsanmeldung an der Universität Wien finden Sie unter diesem Link.

Abmeldung

Sollten Sie an der Lehrveranstaltung doch nicht teilnehmen wollen, melden Sie sich bitte ehestmöglich wieder über U:SPACE ab, so kann der Platz eventuell noch jemand anderem zugeteilt werden. Wenn Sie während des Semesters entscheiden, nicht mehr an einer Lehrveranstaltung teilnehmen zu wollen, ist eine Abmeldung über U:SPACE bis 31. Oktober (Wintersemester) bzw 30. April (Sommersemester) möglich. Teilen Sie Ihre Abmeldung auch Ihrem/r LehrveranstaltungsleiterIn mit.

Ein Versäumnis der Abmeldung kann einen Eintrag der Lehrveranstaltung mit einer negativen Note im Sammelzeugnis zur Folge haben.

5. Prüfungen und Sammelzeugnis

Um an einer Prüfung teilnehmen zu können, ist es meistens notwendig, sich über U:SPACE für die jeweilige Prüfung anzumelden. Die Prüfungsanmeldung erfolgt im Normalfall 1-3 Wochen vor der Prüfung.

Prüfungstermine

Die Prüfungstermine werden im Normalfall spätestens bei der ersten Unterrichtseinheit nach Semesterbeginn bekanntgegeben. In der Regel finden Prüfungen spätestens zu Ende des Semesters oder bis zu einer Woche nach Semesterende statt.

Sammelzeugnis/Teilnahmebestätigung

Prinzipiell werden alle Noten inkl. Angabe der ECTS innerhalb von einem Monat nach der Prüfung in U:SPACE veröffentlicht. Über U:SPACE können Sie sich Ihr Sammelzeugnis inkl. einer digitalen Signatur bis mindestens Ende April (Wintersemester) bzw. Ende November (Sommersemester) selbst auszudrucken. 

Sollten Sie keine Note, sondern nur eine Teilnahmebestätigung ohne Angabe von ECTS benötigen, besprechen Sie diesen Wunsch bitte unbedingt gleich zu Beginn der Lehrveranstaltung am Anfang des Semesters mit dem/r zuständigen LehrveranstaltungsleiterIn.

Abteilung Skandinavistik
Universität Wien

Abteilungsstandort:
Augasse 2-6 /
Stiege D / 5. Stock
1090 Wien

Postanschrift:
Universität Wien
EVSL / Abt. Skandinavistik
Universitätsring 1
1010 Wien


T: +43-1-4277-43051
E-Mail
Universität Wien | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Wien | T +43-1-4277-0